ITIL Foundation Certification



Learn ITIL® Foundation basics with this 3 chapter ebook excerpt. Understand the basics of IT Service Management (ITSM), the common terminology used in the IT Infrastructure Library® and the concepts of the ITIL® Lifecyle.

Read on below for an excerpt of chapter 1:

ITIL® stands for the Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL® is the
international de facto management framework describing best practices for IT
Service Management. The ITIL® framework evolved from the UK government’s efforts
during the 1980s to document how successful organizations approached service
management. By the early 1990s, they had produced a large collection of books
documenting the best practices for IT Service Management. This library was eventually
entitled the IT Infrastructure Library®. The Office of Government Commerce in the UK
continues to operate as the trademark owner of ITIL®.

ITIL® has gone through several evolutions and was most recently refreshed and
reviewed with the release of the 2011 edition. Through these evolutions, the scope
of practices documented has increased in order to stay current with the continued
maturity of the IT industry and meet the needs and requirements of the ITSM
professional community.

ITIL® is only one of many sources for ITSM best practices and should be used to
complement any other set of practices being used by an organization.
ITIL16 ® Foundation certification kit—4th edition
Five volumes make up the ITIL® 2011 Edition:

• Service Strategy
• Service Design
• Service Transition
• Service Operation
• Continual Service Improvement

Each volume provides the guidance necessary for an integrated approach and
addresses the direct impact of capabilities on a service provider’s performance. The
structure of the ITIL® framework is that of the service lifecycle. It ensures organizations
are able to leverage capabilities in one area for learning and improvements in
others. The framework is used to provide structure, stability, and strength to service
management capabilities with durable principles, methods, and tools. This enables
service providers to protect investments and provide the necessary basis for
measurement, learning, and improvement.